Renting
Foreigner-friendly real estate agents in Japan: how to find one
How to find foreigner-friendly real estate in Japan: JPM's list of about 441 multilingual agencies, UR housing with no guarantor, portals and share houses.
A guarantor company (保証会社) promises your landlord it will pay if you don't, then bills you back. MLIT says it often costs 35% to 50% of one month's rent for two years. As of October 2026, none of the six companies we checked publish fee rates. GTN, a foreigner specialist with 18 listed languages, scores highest in our method (7.7), followed by Nihon Safety (7.2), which accepts a home-country emergency contact. JID and Casa ask for a relative living in Japan.
A guarantor company in Japan (保証会社, hoshō gaisha) is a company that promises your landlord it will pay if you don’t. It replaces the personal guarantor (連帯保証人) most foreign residents don’t have. MLIT’s official guidebook says the fee is often 35% to 50% of one month’s rent, paid up front, for two years. As of October 2026, GTN scores highest for foreign tenants in our method (7.7 out of 10), followed by Nihon Safety (7.2). None of the six companies we checked publish their fee rates.
Sample: rent of ¥80,000 a month
¥28,000 to ¥40,000
MLIT's 35-50% range for a two-year guarantee. Your quote depends on the company, plan and property.
When you rent in Japan, the landlord wants someone who will pay if you can’t. MLIT says you need either a personal guarantor or a guarantor company to sign a lease. A guarantor is a person with a steady income who signs with you. Most newcomers don’t have one, so agents send them to a guarantor company.
Two things to understand:
There is a national registration system for rent guarantee companies (家賃債務保証業者登録制度), run by MLIT since October 2017. It is voluntary, so a company can operate without registering. MLIT publishes a list of registered companies that offer foreign-language support: 53 entries as of September 30, 2026.
The only official benchmark is MLIT’s guidebook: 35% to 50% of one month’s rent for a two-year guarantee, paid at signing. After that, companies charge renewal or annual fees:
None of GTN, Casa, Nihon Safety, JID, Entrust or Zenhoren list fee rates on their sites. Entrust says it has no standard package and sets the initial, monthly and renewal fees with each management company. So the price you see on the agent’s estimate is the one to check. Ask what the initial fee is, whether it’s a percentage of rent only or rent plus common fees, and what you’ll pay each year after.
Beyond your residence card (在留カード) and income documents, the biggest hurdle is the emergency contact (緊急連絡先). This is someone the company can call. Casa and JID say they may phone your emergency contact during screening.
| Company | Emergency contact rule (own site) | ID for foreign nationals |
|---|---|---|
| Nihon Safety | Home-country emergency contact form (Nihon Safety’s format) | Residence card, front and back |
| Casa | Normally an adult relative within 3 degrees, living in Japan, able to speak Japanese by phone | Residence card, or passport with photo and visa pages |
| JID | In principle a relative within 2 degrees, living in Japan in a separate household; no minors | Not stated |
| GTN | Not stated on its pages | Not stated |
| Entrust, Zenhoren | Not stated on the pages we checked | Not stated |
If you have no relatives in Japan, the rules of JID and Casa are hard to meet. Nihon Safety’s home-country form is easier to meet, and GTN is built for foreign tenants. Ask the agent before you apply.
Each company on MLIT’s list files a disclosure of the languages it supports. These are the companies’ own statements, with the date each was last updated.
| Company | Languages besides Japanese | How | Disclosure date |
|---|---|---|---|
| GTN | 18: English, Chinese, Korean, Vietnamese, Nepali, Mongolian, Indonesian, Thai, Portuguese, Spanish, Hindi, Sinhala, Bengali, Ukrainian, Russian, Uzbek, Myanmar, Taiwanese | In person, video, phone, email/SNS; multilingual move-in guide, application and result notice | Apr 2024 |
| Entrust (イントラスト) | 17, incl. English, Chinese, Vietnamese, Indonesian, Tagalog, Nepali, Myanmar, Khmer | Phone, fully outsourced | Mar 2019 |
| JID (日本賃貸保証) | 13+, incl. English, Chinese, Vietnamese, Tagalog, Hindi, Indonesian, Nepali | In-house; multilingual e-contract documents | Mar 2023 |
| Casa | 11, incl. English, Chinese, Vietnamese, Tagalog, Nepali | Phone, partly outsourced | Dec 2022 |
| Nihon Safety (日本セーフティー) | 9: English, Chinese, Korean, Vietnamese, Nepali, Portuguese, Spanish, Sinhala, Hindi | Phone, in-house; English website | Feb 2023 |
| Zenhoren (全保連) | 3: English, Chinese, Korean | Phone and email/SNS, in-house | Dec 2022 |
Two gaps between what companies say:
We use the japanhow housing method: accepts foreign residents without a Japanese guarantor (35%), cost (25%), English support (20%) and transparency of terms (20%). Scores are 0 to 10. When we found no evidence, we mark n/a and the overall is the weighted mean of the rest. Nobody pays for a rating. The full method is on our methodology page.
Cost is n/a for every company, because none publish fee rates. That’s also why transparency scores are low. A company gets an overall score only when at least 3 of the 4 criteria have evidence, so Entrust and Zenhoren are listed as not scored (too little published evidence).
| Company | Accepts foreigners w/o JP guarantor (35%) | Cost (25%) | English support (20%) | Transparency (20%) | Overall |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GTN | 9 | n/a | 9 | 4 | 7.7 |
| Nihon Safety | 8 | n/a | 7 | 6 | 7.2 |
| Casa | 6 | n/a | 6 | 6 | 6.0 |
| JID | 5 | n/a | 4 | 6 | 5.0 |
| Entrust | n/a | n/a | 6 | 3 | not scored |
| Zenhoren | n/a | n/a | 4 | 4 | not scored |
In practice the property decides which guarantors you can use. Ask the agent which ones it works with, then compare the quotes.
A company that guarantees your rent to the landlord in place of a personal guarantor (連帯保証人). If it pays rent you missed, it bills you for it. MLIT says Japanese leases need either a personal guarantor or a guarantor company.
MLIT's guidebook says it is often 35% to 50% of one month's rent, paid up front, for two years. On ¥80,000 rent that is ¥28,000 to ¥40,000. Some companies, such as Nihon Safety, run one-year guarantees with a fee at each renewal.
Usually not freely. You apply through the real estate company, and some guarantors only work through management companies that have adopted their product. You can ask the agent which guarantors the property accepts.
Usually yes. JID asks, in principle, for a relative within two degrees living in Japan, and Casa normally for an adult relative within three degrees living in Japan who speaks Japanese. Nihon Safety's English page lists a home-country emergency contact form.
GTN is built for foreign tenants: no joint guarantor, no Japanese level required, screening possible before you arrive in Japan, and 18 languages in its MLIT disclosure. It doesn't publish its fees, and it also runs the Best-Estate.jp apartment portal.
Spotted something out of date or wrong? Email hello@japanhow.com and we will check it against the source. See our corrections policy.
Photo: Haragayato / CC BY-SA 3.0